Seminars

Upcoming Seminars

9/5/2018 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

9/12/2018 – MIC Seminar: Michael Starnbach, PhD

Michael Starnbach, Harvard Med School, Immuno/Vaccine/Microbiology
Host: Isabelle Derre, PhD

Date: Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

9/19/2018 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

9/26/2018 – MIC Seminar: Dr. Sergio Grinstein, University of Toronto

Date: Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn Hall 1-17
[Event Details...]

10/3/2018 – MIC Seminar: Power of Communication: Exosomes as Carrier Pigeons of the Cell to Regulate Innate Immune Response to Infection

Ramin M. Hakami, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
School of Systems Biology
National Center for Biodefense & Infectious Diseases
George Mason University

Host: Young Hahn, PhD

Date: Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn Hall 1-17
[Event Details...]

10/17/2018 – MIC Seminar: David M. Knipe, PhD

David M. Knipe, PhD
Higgins Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
Chair, Harvard Virology Program

Host: Anna Cliffe, PhD

Date: Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

10/24/2018 – MIC co-sponsored Seminar: CCIB Guest Lecture 2018 Heather Cristofk Connections Between Signaling and Metabolism

SAVE-THE-DATE

CCIB Guest Lecture 2018

Heather Cristofk (UCLA)

Wed. Oct. 24, 2018

Topic: Connections Between Signaling and Metabolism

 

Dr. Cristofk’s research has long focused on finding connections between signaling pathways and metabolism in both health and disease (with a main focus on cancer).  For example, while in Lew Cantley’s lab as a graduate student, she found that cancer cells induce the fetal isoform of pyruvate kinase  which promotes use of glucose for anabolic processes and therefore rapid growth.  Dr. Cristofk’s lab recently found that glycolytic production of lactate activates hair follicle stem cells, showing that metabolism can drive quiescence versus proliferation in stem cells.

Date: Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn Hall 1-17
[Event Details...]

10/31/2018 – MIC Graduate Student Seminar

Date: Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn Hall 1-17
[Event Details...]

11/7/2018 – 2018 Betsy and Stuart Houston Lecture

2018 Betsy and Stuart Houston Lecture – Child Health Research Center

Date: Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: MEB
[Event Details...]

11/14/2018 – MIC Seminar: John Brumell, PhD

John Brumell, PhD
University of Toronto
Professor
Institute of Medical Science, Department of Molecular Genetics

Date: Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn Hall 1-17
[Event Details...]

11/28/2018 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn Hall 1-17
[Event Details...]

12/5/2018 – MIC Graduate Student Seminar

Date: Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn Hall 1-17
[Event Details...]

1/23/2019 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

1/30/2019 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

2/6/2019 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

2/13/2019 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

2/20/2019 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

2/27/2019 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

3/6/2019 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

3/13/2019 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

3/20/2019 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

3/27/2019 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

4/3/2019 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

4/10/2019 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

4/17/2019 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

4/24/2019 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

5/1/2019 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

5/8/2019 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]

5/15/2019 – MIC Seminar: Open Date

Date: Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Time: 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Location: Pinn 1-17
[Event Details...]