Daniel A. Engel, PhD presents his research on the ZIKA virus

The CvilleBioHub, a new biotech networking organization, recently hosted a forum on Zika research at Indoor Biotechnologies.  Daniel A. Engel, PhD, professor of Microbiology, Immunology and Cancer Biology at the University of Virginia and chief … [Read more...]

David L. Brautigan elected as a Fellow of the AAAS!

David L. Brautigan , MIC faculty member and Director, Center for Cell Signaling, has been elected as a Fellow of the AAAS (American Association of the Advancement of Science), a national society,  “for distinguished contributions to the field of … [Read more...]

Excellence in Research Award for Melissa Kendall, PhD

“Her experiments are creative and thorough. She is an excellent scientific thinker as well as a top-tier experimentalist.” – Colleague “Melissa is working on a problem that is scientifically very exciting (food poisoning), yet relatively few are … [Read more...]

Congratulations to the 2016 Postdoctoral Research Symposium Winners!

Dustin Cobb, PhD and Kallesh Danappa Jayappa, PhD won prizes for their research at the UVA 2016 Postdoctoral Research Symposium! Dustin Cobb in the Young Hahn Laboratory won Second Prize for this poster presentation on “Liver exosomes promote T … [Read more...]

We congratulate Dr. William A. Petri for being recognized by the University as 2016 Distinguished Scientist!

"The annual award was created several years ago by the Office of the Vice President for Research to recognize faculty members who have made influential and longtime contributions to the University’s research enterprise in the sciences, medicine and … [Read more...]

Dr. Ravichandran Receives Odysseus 1 Award

Congratulations to Kodi Ravichandran, PhD, Harrison Distinguished Professor and Chair of our department, on receiving the Odysseus 1 Award, from the Research Foundation Flanders (FWO), Belgium. This award, provided by the Flemish government, is … [Read more...]

Welcome to Anna Cliffe, PhD

We welcome Anna Cliffe to our department!  Anna Cliffe, PhD is a new assistant professor and investigates the mechanism of herpes simplex virus (HSV) latency and reactivation in neurons. … [Read more...]

Welcome to Andrew Dudley, PhD

We welcome associate professor Andrew Dudley, PhD to our department!  His research is focused on the tumor microenvironment and mechanisms of tumor neovascularization. Find out more about the Dudley Lab HERE. … [Read more...]

Shyr-Te Jun Award by the Department of Medicine at the 2016 Carey-Marshall-Thorner Research and Scholars Day

Congratulations to Jeffrey Teoh was awarded the Shyr-Te Jun Award by the Department of Medicine at the 2016 Carey-Marshall-Thorner Research and Scholars Day for a poster presentation on Acute virus-specific responses by NK cells shape CD8+ memory T … [Read more...]

Nature Microbiology publishes PhD thesis work on the epidemic strain of Clostridium difficile!

Carrie Cowardin, former MIC graduate student with Bill Petri, and now postdoc with Jeff Gordon at Washington University, just published in Nature Microbiology her PhD thesis work on the epidemic strain of Clostridium difficile. Carrie discovered … [Read more...]