Jay Fox, Ph.D. joined WTVR to talk about how to avoid snake bites and what to do if you do get bitten

Watch Dr. Jay Fox in an interview about snake bites:   https://wtvr.com/2018/10/15/snakebites/ WTVR:  "RICHMOND, Va. - According to the World Health Organization, up to 5.4 million people are bitten by snakes each year. It’s a startling statistic … [Read more...]

Park Lab develops model to test numerous cancer genes and mutations simultaneously

One of the biggest obstacles for cancer researchers today is the sheer volume of variables at play when a healthy cell turns cancerous. This often makes it difficult for researchers to determine where to focus. “We can have hundreds of candidates,” … [Read more...]

Alison Criss Laboratory Reveals How ‘Super Gonorrhea’ Resists the Human Immune System

"UVA’s new research sheds important light on how the gonorrhea bacterium defeats the body’s antimicrobial defenses. Gonorrhea, the scientists determined, takes a two-fisted approach to neutralizing lysozyme, an enzyme that degrades bacteria and is … [Read more...]

Ruth L. Kirschstein Predoctoral Individual National Research Service Award (F31)

We are proud to announce that Becky Stanhope from Isabelle Derré's laboratory received a score of 10 on her F31 application “ Characterization of a Chlamydia trachomatis inclusion membrane protein as a molecular tether mediating endoplasmic … [Read more...]

Congratulations 2018-2019 CIC/MIC Postdoctoral Travel Award Winners!

Claire Rosean and Robin Lindsay won the 2018-2019 CIC/MIC Postdoctoral Travel Award. This award is intended to aid in the professional development within the applicant's area of expertise, by supporting travel to a scientific conference where the … [Read more...]

F31 fellowship to support graduate research on C. difficile

Alyse Frisbee was awarded an F31 fellowship to support her graduate research, "Balancing TLR2 and IL-33 immune pathways to protect during epidemic C. difficile infection" in Bill Petri's lab. This grant was funded by the National Institute of Allergy … [Read more...]

Pioneering New 3D Cancer Model to Speed New Treatments

Dan Gioeli, PhD, Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Cancer Biology and the UVA Cancer Center, working with local biotech company HemoShear Therapeutics, has created a three-dimensional model of a cancer tumor that can replicate the complex … [Read more...]

MIC Group reveals how a cancer-causing virus anchors itself to our DNA.

Using a homemade, high-tech microscope, Drs. Mitch Smith, Dean Kedes and Margret Grant and Laboratory technicians Aiola Stoja and Matt Loftus in the Department of Microbiology at the University of Virginia School of Medicine have revealed how a … [Read more...]

Dr. Drew Dudley at the Award Ceremony of the AARC

Drew Dudley received the Bayer/AACR (American Association for Cancer Research) Innovation and Discovery Award this month at the Annual AACR meeting in Chicago. … [Read more...]

R01 from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke to MIC Assistant Professor Anna Cliffe

Congratulations to Anna Cliffe on receiving an R01 to support her research on “Cell stress-mediated changes in the Herpes simplex virus type 1 chromatin structure during reactivation from latent infection”. This grant is funded by the National … [Read more...]